Answers for the exercises

1 a) teams. South certainly will not risk his contract, so will not finesse: 3NT + 2. 


b) matchpoints. Now finessing is a logical alternative:  3NT – 3.  L16C2

In both cases the TD tells south that he has to play a legal card and west that he may play a different card. Furthermore he tells south that the knowledge of (10 being at west is UI if coming from seeing that card. (Don’t tell south that he has to play (9!)

. 

2 Not so easy. Dummy may ask declarer about a possible revoke and though he doesn’t do so, the effect is the same in a) and in b): declarer becomes aware of his revoke. Therefore he should be allowed to change the card he played. L61B. 

In c) declarer did not revoke so (3 is a played card. 

In case a) North certainly should get a reprimand.

3 Though it doesn’t say so L47D deals with cards played in rotation. Declarer is not allowed to withdraw the (4. If the TD is convinced that east caused this irregularity by purpose a well  deserved penalty (adjusted score) at least compensating the gain should be east’s share (L72B1).

4
a)
not 45E2. South plays in trick 3 and it appears to be the lead. West may accept,             otherwise South takes the card back .


b) 
By playing too, west has accepted the lead out of turn. L55A.


extra:
too complicated, following a) west has accepted the LOOT and revoked.

5
(9 taken back. The possession of it is UI for West. L50D.


a)
TD should ask west:  ‘You know you are instructed not to play hearts?’ The answer is ‘yes’ and play continues. Nothing more.


b)      
The same. At the end the TD has to decide whether west did use the UI that  east has the (9. The answer is an obvious yes, so west should be penalized. Concerning South request for a ruling. The play of the (Q is obvious as well, there is no other way to defeat the contract.

6
a)
Declarer may play any card from dummy he wants (L45D)



b) and c)  The TD should explain to South that if he replaces  his played card according to 62C1
declarer may change the card he played in dummy. (62C2) And only then.

7
a)
58A: east’s card is played prematurely, so 57A applies. 


b)
53C applies: east may pick up the (3, information arising from it is UI for west. 

8
a) and b)
L28B. No doubt north wants his turn to call: 1( is taken back without                                   any penalty.


c)
The TD needs to explain that only the NEXT player in rotation has the option to accept the BOOT. L29A. If he did so north should be penalized. The laws are not clear about a ruling in this case: let us agree that after such an infraction the BOOT has to be accepted (which could be considered to be the penalty). 

9
a)
(3 is a major penalty card


b)
What to do first: The TD accepts east’s confession (no established revoke) and   then decides about the claim.


c)
63A3: the revoke becomes established: south gets all the remaining tricks.

10
a) and b)  The TD should tell west that he is obliged to pass once. 31A2A


c)         The TD tells west that he has to pass in each turn during this auction and he mentions the possibility of a lead penalty. 31A2B



11
L21B.  a) ,b) and c) The TD offers east the possibility to replace his last pass. If he does the auction continues. 


b)
West may pick up his faced down lead.


c)
West may pick up his faced up lead.


d)
Too late to pick up the lead (47E2). 40C applies. 

12
62D2
The TD should tell west that the knowledge that partner has the (J is UI. 


a)
The TD should adjust the score, west has a logical alternative


b)
Now west does not have a logical alternative but to play the (Q. 

13 a) and b)  Adjusted score based on loosing a trick to (Q. 72B1 and 55C.

14         a)
remove the (J (it doesn’t belong to the board played) and let south play a legal card in trick 4.


b)and c)  L13 heading. The TD should decide that the board cannot be played normally and give an adjusted score +/- 3 imps. 

15
a)
L70
South looses 2 tricks


b)
L69A
no acquiescence yet: L70 and see a)


c)
EW have acquiesced: it is not irrational to ruff the (10. Results stands.

16
difficult to find a specific law to cover this irregularity. 


a)
72B1. Play to be continued but the TD awards an adjusted score based on an extra trick to EW.


b)
The TD should investigate whether an established revoke has occurred and apply 64C if that happened. If that doesn’t give EW the trick they want still a trick should be transferred: L 12A1 (who has a better idea?)


c)
An established revoke, not being penalized, but L 64C applies: a trick to EW (this supports the decision to transfer a trick in case b)) 

17
a)
L33. South has made an insufficient bid. L27


b)
Since the call itself is made by the bidding card with 2( on it, this call came after the 3(-bid and has to be treated like a): insufficient bid. 


c)
L28B.  3( taken back; UI for south. 

18
a)
26A applies: South may prohibit a (- or (exclusive) (-lead or demand one of them. 


b)
26A applies: South may prohibit or demand a (-lead. 

a 26B applies: South may prohibit the lead in any suit. 

19
Formally spoken south did not play to trick 2, so revoked. 


a)
67A1.  The TD tells south to play a legal card to trick 2. Though not specifically mentioned west should be allowed to change his card in trick 3, even when south hadn’t won trick 2. 


b)
67B1a.  The TD tells south to play a card he could legally have played in trick 2 ((A) and west remains the winner of this trick. No further penalty despite the established revoke.


c)
South should play a legal card to trick 2. 67B1b applies. This means that one trick goes to EW. 

20
It should be clear that south never thought about playing anything else than the J or K, needing another 2  tricks and for sure loosing 2 if he plays low from dummy. So L 46B heading applies. And then 46B5 applies, the defenders may tell which of the two, J or K, has to be played.  

21         a)
The small spade dropped by south is a minor penalty card, thus L 54 heading applies (routine). But the TD should take measures to let south play the card he led faced down when east doesn’t prohibit or require a (-lead. 


b)
The TD should start with the LOOT (L50D2), that could be accepted by declarer etc. If he does not accept it the (9 is a major penalty card, and declarer may forbid or demand a (-lead from south (the penalty card from north gets priority; L  ). South’s (Q is a penalty card also and 50D1 applies. 


c)
North has 2 major penalty cards, but the opening lead by south has been made. 

22
an inadmissible double OOT (IDOOT by an idiot).


a)
L 32B1 leads us to L36. If L26 applies it will be 26B. 


b)
Now we go from L32 to L35A, all dealt with in peace.


c)
Try to convince them to start playing another game. The result should be cancelled. Is this a case to give average/average?

23         a)
make it a habit to find it possible for partner to have seen the card when both      opponents did see it. This is a played card.


b)
According to L 45C2 it is not a played card, not (nearly) touching the table nor  maintained in such a position as to indicate that it has been played.


c)
This doesn’t change the status of the card, it still is not played. 

24         a)   The TD tells east that he may not use the UI connected to the use of the stop card. The TD should question east about his 2(-bid after a normal overcall from partner. He certainly used UI and should be penalized. Apart from that an adjusted score based on 4( - 1 seems reasonable. Let them explain their behavior to the AC. 

             b)
Why not believe him? Even though his holding doesn’t seem that weak. 25A

             c)
Looks even better: let west makes his bid (25A). 


In b) and c) information from north’s withdrawn call is UI for EW. 

25
a)
The reasons are not relevant, illegal calls discovered in time need to be restored. 1(   and 1( have to be replaced by legal calls. No UI.


b)
Though there is UI now the regulations still demand the tray to be pushed back and the illegal calls replaced. If the UI makes the board unplayable (when to decide?) the TD awards an artificial adjusted score. 


c)
You don’t believe it, but the four last calls have to be replaced. And IF the UI makes the board unplayable etc….

      Anyone suggesting the WBF Laws Committee to review these regulations?

b) The WBF and the EBL  have decided to allow the change of deliberate made calls under 25B without penalty when playing with screens, as long as the tray is not transferred.

26
A mess. North and East should be reprimanded. What to do? The auction isn’t closed but North’s hand is known and there is a, what is supposed to be, faced up lead. 


My proposal: imagine this happening without a screen. Then L 24 applies. So north’s  cards should be left on the table, as well as the card shown by west and it is south turn to call. The TD tells him he has to pass (24C) (don’t believe this was north’s way to prevent south from bidding 7). We have a real problem if west having seen ‘dummy’ now can double.  


When this happened at the table the TD didn’t know what to do and when asked I did not  invent what I wrote down here. And don’t believe your group leader if he tried to convince you that this is the obvious solution. 


You assumed south to pass and just continued play, reserving your right to adjust the score later? That is what happened at the table. Not bad at all. 

27
Regulations again. 


a)
North has a major penalty card.


b)
West infringes the regulations (the TD should ask who opened the aperture) and therefore the LOOT has to be accepted. South picks up his faced down lead. 


c)
North may pick up his card, which is UI for both south and east. 

28
Let me tell you what I did when this happened. I was called after the board had been played for 2 off. My decision was that the board had to be canceled, since I considered the auction to be illegal. North asked the insufficient bid to be restored and in stead of that  something else happened. Both sides being at fault I awarded average  minus twice.    

